7 Greek Islands Placed on England’s Quarantine List

Travelers arriving in England from 7 Greek island holiday destinations will have to self-isolate for 2 weeks, according to the UK's secretary of transport.

Travelers arriving in England from seven Greek island destinations will have to self-isolate for 14 days, the UK’s secretary of state for transport, Grant Shapps announced on Monday.

These are the islands of Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos (aka Zante), with the measure due to come into effect this Wednesday.

Last week, similar measures were adopted by Wales, which currently requires travelers arriving from Mykonos, Zakynthos, Lesvos, Paros, Antiparos and Crete to self-isolate for 14 days.

Meanwhile Scotland requires all travelers arriving from Greece to self-isolate for 14 days. Northern Ireland, however, has yet to impose any such restrictions.

According to Sky News, the above decisions have sparked anger and confusion among British tourists, particularly those who have booked last-minute holidays.

Since the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, the UK has logged 347,000 confirmed cases of Covid-19 and 41,551 deaths from the disease. Over the same period Greece has seen 11,524 confirmed cases and 284 deaths (as of Sunday, 6/09/2020).

This article was first published in Greek on Kathimerini.gr

Read More


Tourism Losses Amount to 10% of GDP

The Bank of Greece announced on Tuesday that incoming travelers...


Outlook Positive for Greek Tourism in 2021, Experts Say

There are already indications that the summer of 2021 will...